Tags

, , , , ,

I am happy to report a package from Goldspot arrived at the office on Friday. Inside was my Visconti nib with a newly fitted section, which had been missing in the initial shipment, which I first mentioned in this post. So I can finally give a complete review of the Visconti Rembrandt Calligraphy Set in Red.

box

The box in which the calligraphy set originally arrived.

set

The set came with an inkwell, blotting paper, the pen body, two converters and two nibs. In this picture the extra-fine nib is in the pen, while the italic nib with it’s new section is lying in its bed as it should be, nice and snug, instead of rolling around.

calligraphy booklet

The booklet that came with the set not only gives instructions on filling the pen but also introduces the various types of calligraphy: Italic, Gothic, Uncial, Foundational, Rotunda and English Script. There are detailed pictures of how to produce each letter.

quick brown fox

I think my favourite is Foundational, which is the third up from the bottom.

calligraphy book instructions

Makes it look easy! I wish.

blotting paper

A close-up of the blotting paper. Apparently it has a plastic coating to protect fingers.

inkwell

The inkwell. This one is plastic; they also come in glass bottles. Beautiful shape to the bottle; very distinctive. And inadvertently I got a great closeup of the pen. Love the variation in the barrel colour, the decorated band and the iconic clip.

made in florence

The pen body came wrapped in this plastic sleeve. No doubt about where it was made.

visconti finial

The finial.

silver band

Close-up of the detail on the band. So pretty. The other side says Rembrandt.

close up of visconti on cap

Sorry couldn’t resist the cap again – love it!

both nibs

The nibs; italic on top, extra-fine on the bottom.

black writing sample

I filled the pen with the Visconti black ink and wrote this sample with the 1.5 mm nib. Very smooth on the Studio Oh! paper. A little too thick for everyday use I think. I will use it for my Christmas cards and special occasions. Now I have to find a red ink I don’t get a headache looking at. But until then…

orange indien and cap

I’ve had this J. Herbin Orange Indien since my Christmas visit to Reid’s Stationers. When I saw the orange undertones of the Rembrandt barrel I immediately thought of my only orange ink. I think it’s a good match.

orange writing sample

Such a difference to the first nib. It is a very nice writer, with no skipping. It was a bit scratchy on the paper (Clairefontaine) but that’s to be expected with an extra-fine nib. I had to force some ink into the section to get it going but after that no problems. I think this will be more of an everyday writer for me.

pen laying on orange writing

I know this is the “budget” version of the Rembrandt, as the one I tried out at Reid’s Stationers had a metal section (not plastic) and a magnetized finial that could be customized. But that really doesn’t matter to me; this version brought it into the realm of possibility and I am thrilled with it. I am very grateful to my husband for buying it for me and also to the excellent folks at Goldspot for making it perfect. You can check it out yourself here, although it is no longer on sale. And if you really want to dream, take a look a the rest of the Visconti line here.